The Edgy Mead Moon Mood

After a night dreaming of necromancy performed deep in the hearts of garden labyrinths (I have been reading too many grimoires!), I spent a lovely day wandering aimlessly through Virginia Beach and Norfolk with Leo. He was attempting to deliver me to the latest Obama campaign phone bank to open in the area, but we drove around in total confusion for so many hours that in the end we decided to just settle on spending the evening wandering Ghent, the best place to be downtown.

We got buzzed on too much fabulous fair-trade coffee served by fabulous folk at aLatté Café and read wicked wild poetry and played Solitaire from comfy leather sofas on beautiful old coffee tables until closing, then skipped down the street in the warm Southern rain to the book store, where he contributed to the collection of souvenirs I had been amassing all day: some fresh incense offerings for Hekate, Hera, and Aenghus Mac Óg; Sacred Plant Medicine by Stephen Harrod Buhner; and his addition, a lovely little mug with the quote by Ghandi that Leo somehow knows I secretly try to live by each day: “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” I plan to make a habit of drinking my morning tea from it as I watch the Sun rise over the Atlantic.

We spent some more time in the wet and nearly empty streets before returning home on this edgy Full Moon. Many things reached their pinnacle today in my life and the lives of those closest to me–whether positive or negative, that which was hidden, buried deep under the soil with fingers crossed, was brought to the surface with the pouring rain this day. The other realms that I have been avoiding recently for fear of crossing the Hedge with my baggage still clinging to my spirit showed me that it does not sleep while I do. I Saw content Spirits in the cozy places I found myself enjoying, as well, dancing on the edges of Vision. The Ones I had offended howled Their discontent from places I thought would muffle Their disapproval. And my relationships with those of flesh and blood entered new realms, as well, ones I did not think I would have to journey to. Facing the Music seems to be the theme of this Mead Moon, for my life and the lives of those around me. As the Moon drifts into Darkness, we’ll see what becomes of this mood.

3 comments

  1. It’s interesting about what you’ve noticed seems to be the theme for this full moon. My best friend lost her boyfriend yesterday. I told her it may have been the full moon that helped him to leave her, but she wasn’t listening. I think I may have to force her to read this post…

    1. I can’t imagine that it’s a coincidence that so many are experiencing this sense of unease that’s affecting a number of relationships, especially on a Full Moon, and especially on a Full Moon hot on the heels of two eclipses and the night before the only Venus transit we’re likely to see in our lifetimes! You can feel the tension the very air, and people are so feisty towards one another at the moment. Confessions of all sorts have been flying off the tongues of every one around me, and my own. Things are getting crazy! I can only imagine what the Dark Moon’ll bring, if things of all sorts are coming to light now.

      I’m sorry to hear about your friend’s heart-break.

      1. I wonder what it is about the celestial events that is effecting everyone so much.

        Thank you.

Leave a Reply

